Ackermann announces Super Rugby squad


Posted on February 22, 2016

Emirates Lions head coach Johan Ackermann announced the 27-man touring squad for their Super Rugby tour to Japan and New Zealand.

The side will be captained by Warren Whiteley.

The Lions kick off their campaign in Tokyo on Saturday 27 February (06:15 SA time) against the Sun Wolves. This is followed by matches against the Chiefs (5 March, Hamilton) and Highlanders (12 March, Dunedin).

The team departs for Japan on Tuesday 23 February.

The Emirates Lions will play in their black away jersey in this first ever historic Super Rugby game in Japan against the new acquisition side the Sun Wolves.

CEO of the Golden Lions Rugby Union, Rudolf Straeuli, said that no player who missed the cut for Super Rugby will be released to another union as they will fall in with the Currie Cup side with immediate effect. “No contracted player will be released to other unions at this stage,” Straeuli confirmed.

Find herewith the touring squad as well as the final Super Rugby squad.‪#‎Emirates‬‪#‎Xerox‬‪#‎Jonsson‬

Touring squad in alphabetical order:

Ackermann Ruan
Booysen Fabian
Coetzee Andries
Coetzee Robbie
Combrinck Ruan
De Klerk Faf
Dreyer Ruan
Ferreira Andries
Fourie Corne
Janse v Rensburg RohanJantjies Elton
Kriel Jaco
Kruger Robert
Mapoe Lionel
Marx Malcolm
Mnisi Howard
Mostert Franco
Redelinghuys Julian
Skosan Courtnall
Smit Dillon
Smith Dylan
Tecklenburg Warwick
Van der Merwe Armand
Van der Walt Jaco
Van Rooyen Jacques
Vorster Harold
Whiteley Warren




Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top