Currie Cup Fact Sheeta


By GreenSmile

Posted on August 12, 2015

Currie Cup Fact Sheet

The Xerox Lions are going for Currie Cup glory in 2015. Here are some must-know facts about the Currie Cup:

  • The Absa Currie Cup dates back to 1889 and is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world.
  • The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province.
  • The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province.
  • The trophy is named after Sir Donald Currie, the British owner of ships that linked England and South Africa
  • The Currie Cup was staged intermittently until 1968, when it became an annual competition
  • The first final was at Newlands in 1939, when Transvaal, captained by Fanie Louw, beat Western Province. The referee was Boy Louw, the great Springbok and Fanie’s brother.
  • The Lions boast 10 Currie Cup final wins in their illustrious history thus far.
  • After winning the Currie Cup in 1972 for the sixth time, supporters had to wait a further 21 years for the trophy to return to Johannesburg. Even though the pain of not securing the Currie Cup was somewhat soothed by winning the Lion Cup (a now extinct knock-out competition) in 1986, 1987 and 1992, it was Currie Cup glory supporters were really craving.
  • Finally however, under the guidance of Kitch Christie as head coach and Francois Pienaar as captain, the side was able to win the Currie Cup in 1993 with a 21-15 victory over Natal in Durban. Memorably, Uli Schmidt (hooker) scored the winning try after chasing down a kick.
  • The union repeated their success in 1994 by beating the Orange Free State by 56-35 in Bloemfontein. This was however not the end of the union’s success. The Lions won the Currie Cup again in 1999 when they beat the Sharks 32-9 in Durban, and were on the losing side in the 2002 and 2007 finals.
  • They ended their 12 year trophy drought in 2011, beating the Natal Sharks 42-16 in the final in Johannesburg. The result was the most one-sided final since 1980 when Northern Transvaal beat Western Province 39-9 in Pretoria.
  • This year Ackermann’s side will be going all out to emulate their feat of 2011.  
  • Last year coach Johan Ackermann’s charges came close to winning the coveted trophy again when they lost a nail-biting final 16-19 against DHL Western Province at Newlands. They will be looking to build on last year’s excellent Currie Cup campaign and go one better this year after coming so close last year.
  • From 1988 to 1990, the Lions went 29 consecutive matches unbeaten in the Currie Cup.
  • Cobus Grobbelaar played the most Currie Cup matches for the Lions with a whopping 108, followed by Franco van der Merwe with 97 and Dries Maritz with 91 matches played.
  • Gerald Bosch scored the most points in a Currie Cup match for the Lions, adding 36 points onto the scoreboard. He also has the most career points as a Lions Currie Cup player, with 521 scored in total.
  • In 1996, Gavin Lawless scored 263 points for the Lions during the Currie Cup tournament.
  • Pieter Hendriks holds the Lions record for most Currie Cup tries scored at a phenomenal 38!
  • The highest number of tries scored by the Lions in a Currie Cup match is 4.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top