Emirates Lions vs Highlanders


Posted on March 10, 2016

The Lions take on the Vodacom Super Rugby champions the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday morning at 08:35 (SA time).

Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Jaco van der Walt will get their first start in this years’ Vodacom Super Rugby tournament against the Highlanders.

It will be a new centre pairing of Howard Mnisi and Janse van Rensburg in midfield replacing Lionel Mapoe, who became a father on Wednesday, and Harold Vorster, who returned home after injuring his left knee again.

In the only other change to the backline Van der Walt replaces Andries Coetzee in a rotational move at fullback. In the front row Jacques van Rooyen gets his first start with Robbie Coetzee back in the number two jumper. Ruan Dreyer starts in a rotational move which sees Julian Redelinghuys move to the bench.

New recruit Jacques Nel, who joined the side earlier in the week, will warm the bench while Dillon Smit also earns a spot among the reserves for the first time this season.The Emirates Lions will don a new pair of shorts this weekend sporting the latest sponsor, C-track, at the back.

Emirates Lions vs Highlanders

1          Loosehead Prop          Jacques Van Rooyen

2          Hooker                   Robbie Coetzee

3          Tighthead Prop             Ruan Dreyer

4          Left Lock              Andries Ferreira

5          Right Lock            Franco Mostert

6          Left Flanker                  Jaco Kriel

7          Right Flanker                Warwick Tecklenberg

8          Number Eight     Warren Whiteley

9          Scrumhalf           Faf De Klerk

10        Flyhalf                  Elton Jantjies

11        Left Wing               Courtnal Skosan

12        Inside Centre     Howard Mnisi

13        Outside Centre   Rohan Janse Van Rensburg

14        Right Wing            Ruan Combrinck

15        Fullback               Jaco Van Der Walt


  1. Reserve    Armand Van Der Merwe
  2. Reserve    Corne Fourie
  3. Reserve    Julian Redelinghuys
  4. Reserve    Robert Kruger
  5. Reserve    Ruan Ackermann
  6. Reserve    Dillon Smit
  7. Reserve    Jacques Nel
  8. Reserve    Andries Coetzee

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top