The Emirates Lions name their match day 23 to face the Cell C Sharks on Saturday, 22 January at Emirates Airline Park. Kick-off is at 15:00.

Tickets for the match are still available at ticketpros.co.za

Emirates Lions lock forward Pieter Jansen van Vuren makes a return to the match 23 to face the Cell C Sharks in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship this Saturday at Emirates Airline Park. He makes an appearance in the starting lineup after being side-lined due to injury during the team’s tour to the UK.

Also featuring in the number seven jumper on Saturday is Ruhan Straeuli who comes in for the injured Vincent Tshituka.

Emirates Lions Head Coach Ivan van Rooyen:

“It’s great to be back for Vodacom URC action especially on our home turf at Emirates Airline Park. It’ll be our first URC fixture at home since the campaign started so we’re pretty excited about that.”

Commenting on his selected match 23, Van Rooyen believes his troops are up for the Sharks challenge with a few players hoping to make an impact this weekend.

“We are pleased to have Pieter back. He was great for us on tour before injury halted his momentum. He’s trained really well over the past few weeks, and he is eager to get stuck again.”

Van Rooyen backed his loose trio to provide his side with the necessary go forward attitude against the visitors.

“It’s unfortunate to lose Vincent due to an injury setback, but the opportunity now presents itself for Ruhan to come in and do the job for us in concert with Jaco Kriel and Francke Horn, “ he concluded.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Lions Rugby Company (@lionsrugbyco)

Emirates Lions:

  1. EW Viljoen 14. Edwill van der Merwe 13. Wandisile Simelane 12. Burger Odendaal (c) 11. Rabz Maxwane 10. Fred Zeilinga 9. Andre Warner 8. Francke Horn 7. Ruhan Straeuli 6. Jaco Kriel 5. Pieter Jansen van Vuren 4. Ruben Schoeman 3. Carlu Sadie 2. Jaco Visagie 1. Sti Sithole


  1. PJ Botha 17. Morgan Naude 18. Ruan Dreyer 19. Willem Alberts 20. Emmanuel Tshituka 21. Morne van den Berg 22. Matt More 23. Tiaan Swanepoel